History of Dutch-Estonian relations

After Estonia had declared its independence in 1918 and the newly established state signed the Treaty of Tartu with the Soviet Union in 1920, the Republic of Estonia was officially recognised by the Kingdom of the Netherlands on 5 March 1921. After being occupied by the Soviet Union for decades since the 1940s, Estonia fully restored its independence on 20 August 1991. On 2 September 1991, the Netherlands recognised Estonia as an independent country for the second time, and on 21 September 1991, diplomatic relations between the two countries were resumed.